Beekeeping: One year later

As I mention in my previous post, I have learned a lot over the past year as a newbie beekeeper. As we enter 2011, my interest in this wonderful craft as been renewed. I will try and post more of my thoughts, but for now, suffice it to say I have come to the conclusion that 8 frame hives can be used in a similar fashion to a Warre Hive.

I have just purchased my first 8 frame hive and will post pictures when it arrives. I am only using medium supers across the board, and I plan on using a quilt box, just like a Warre Hive. The advantage of this set up is that one is able to use standard frames. All of the boxes are interchangeable too so only one size frame is needed for brood and honey. An 8 frame hive box full of honey is less heavy than the typical 10 frame hive. There are many reports that 8 frame hives overwinter as well.

I am looking forward to this experiment.

About wasatchwarre

Iconoclast... liberal Utahn who likes guns, lived in Japan for 5 years, works in HR, and dreams of homesteading some day.
This entry was posted in Hive Reports, Lessons in beekeeping. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

